Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

How to Find Your Winning Style

Written by: Ariane Sylvain Montréal - December 17, 2018

As I’ve mentioned in previous articles, the clothes you choose to wear are a direct reflection of your personality. It’s therefore important to carefully select your fashion pieces and accessories.

However, I know that following trends, honouring your silhouette, and working to develop your unique style is no easy feat. But I promise, it’s inevitable that after a few (or many) fashion mishaps, you’ll find the key pieces that let your personality shine through and the cuts that most flatter your figure – vavavoom!

This is where I come into play. Girls, here are my top tips to help you shop in stores or online:

1- Make sure you choose clothes that flatter your silhouette/figure.

 

Hourglass or X Silhouette
Upper and lower body with similar proportions. Small waist. You have a harmonious and balanced silhouette.

Tip: know how to highlight your shape and small waist. To do so, choose clothes with belted cuts and flowy materials. Showcasing your waist with a cinched belt is always a winning idea.

Celebrities who can inspire you: Sienna Miller, Nicole Richie, and Kendall Jenner.

Rectangle or H Silhouette
Long and slender silhouette. Your shoulders and hips are aligned. Your waist isn’t very defined and your chest is small.

Tip: opt for straight cuts that will lengthen your figure. Choose flared pieces, prints, and bright colours for your bottoms to create the illusion of curves around the hip and bum area. Another tip: wear low-waisted pants or skirts and flowy dresses belted at the hips.

Celebrities who can inspire you: Charlotte Gainsbourg, Kate Moss, and Victoria Beckham.

Round or O Silhouette
Curvy women. Small shoulders, a generous chest, a small waist, wide hips, and a sizeable bum.

Tip: be bold with your necklines! Avoid clothes that are cut too wide. Opt for pieces that hug your curves (but say no to tight, shiny, and stretchy materials). As for colours, monochrome outfits with dark tops and bottoms are recommended to make you look slimmer. Add joy and personality to your outfits with accessories!

Celebrities who can inspire you: Adele and Nikki Blonsky.

Inverted Pyramid or V Silhouette
The V-shaped silhouette is most seen in athletic women: wide, square shoulders, small hips, and thin legs.

Tip: highlight your legs, your main asset! How? Opt for jeans and tight pants. Choose printed and bright bottoms. For your tops, favour V-necks. Forget tight tops, quote t-shirts, and horizontal stripes.

Celebrities who can inspire you: Cameron Diaz, Pink, and Zoe Saldana.

Pyramid or A Silhouette
The most common silhouette among women. Shoulders narrower than hips. Generous or petite chest. Smaller or larger waist.

Tip: choose V-necks, patterns, and bright colours. Also, opt for voluminous tops, which will help balance your silhouette and give the illusion of smaller hips. As for bottoms, choose flared shapes and dark colours that will slim down your hips and bum.

Celebrities who can inspire you: Beyoncé, Jennifer Lopez, and Eva Mendes.

B Silhouette
Very similar to the X shape, but with more curves. Shoulders and hips are the same width. Defined waist, generous bust, and sizeable bum.

Tip: to enhance your chest, choose shirts that are belted or have a décolletage. Wrap tops and dresses as well as flowy materials worn close to the body are always winners. For bottoms, go with high waisted skirts and pants.

Celebrities who can inspire you: Marilyn Monroe, Scarlett Johansson, and Kim Kardashian.

2- Choose clothes that resemble you.
Before undergoing a dramatic makeover, take the time to carefully think about the style of clothing that suits you best. Do a little brainstorming. What message do you want to project to the world? To help you, look at what your favourite celebs are wearing. Create an inspiration board on Pinterest! Be careful, the goal isn’t to copy them, but to draw inspiration from them. Always keep in mind the recommendations related to your particular figure.

3- Adapt your style to your lifestyle: opt for comfort.
What does a typical day in the life look like? Choose clothes that you can wear every day. Comfort is key! Too often, money is thrown away for non-practical clothes and accessories that end up gathering dust in your wardrobe! If you’re dreaming of a beautiful shimmering dress seen on your favourite star, consider renting clothes (reference to my article here).

And finally, I want to invite you to step out of your comfort zone every now and then. Dare to be bold and try different things in your search for the perfect pieces. Too often, we limit ourselves to what we’re used to, to what we already have in our closet.

When planning to go shopping, be sure to give yourself tons of time. Wear comfortable shoes and easy-to-remove clothes to make trying on pieces more fun and enjoyable. Invite a friend who will give you an honest opinion and make sure to leave your pride at home!

Does this all seem like a confusing puzzle to you? Don’t panic and refer to your favourite stylist for help https://www.arianesylvain.com/.

xox Ari

Written by:

Ariane Sylvain

Montreal stylist Ariane Sylvain has an instinct for trends and a distinct style. She is well known for being bold and unafraid to defy convention. For her, fashion is a form of art, through which she can express her personality and have fun.

Recognized for her natural talent, creativity, open-mindedness, and outgoing personality, Ariane is sought after for photoshoots, TV segments, red carpets, and personal styling.

She has been Marina’s stylist for over four years now. As they share the same fashion vision, together they form a dynamic duo that’s taking the world by storm.

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Les règles pour réussir son style vestimentaire

Rédigé par: Ariane Sylvain Montréal - 17 Décembre 2018

Comme je l’ai déjà évoqué, avoir son propre style vestimentaire, c’est renvoyer le reflet de notre personnalité au monde entier. C’est donc plutôt judicieux d’accorder une attention particulière lorsque vient le temps de choisir nos vêtements et nos accessoires.

Par contre, s’approprier les tendances au fil des saisons, honorer notre silhouette et développer un style propre à nous n’est pas forcément évident, je l’entends. Mais je vous rassure, c’est inévitablement après quelques (voire de nombreuses) erreurs de style que vous saurez trouver les coupes ainsi que les pièces clés qui savent faire briller votre personnalité et vous mettre en valeur physiquement – vavavoom!

C’est donc maintenant que j’entre en jeu. Les filles, voici mes précieuses astuces pour faciliter votre sélection de vêtements en magasin ou en ligne :

Assurez-vous de choisir des vêtements adaptés à votre silhouette/morphologie.

 

Silhouette X ou sablier

Haut et bas du corps aux proportions similaires. Taille fine. Vous avez une silhouette harmonieuse et équilibrée.

Conseil : sachez mettre en valeur vos formes ainsi que votre taille fine. Pour ce faire, choisissez des vêtements aux coupes cintrées et aux matières fluides. L’idée de marquer votre taille avec une ceinture est gagnante.  

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Sienna Miller, Nicole Richie et Kendall Jenner.

 

Silhouette H ou rectangle

Silhouette longiligne et élancée. Vos épaules et vos hanches sont dans le même alignement. Votre taille est très peu marquée et votre poitrine est menue.

Conseil : allez-y pour les coupes droites qui allongeront votre silhouette. Privilégiez les modèles un peu évasés, les imprimés et les couleurs vives pour vos bas afin de créer du volume au niveau des hanches et des fesses. Autre astuce : portez des pantalons ou jupes taille basse et des robes fluides ceinturées sur les hanches

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Charlotte Gainsbourg, Kate Moss et Victoria Beckham.

 

Silhouette O ou ronde

Femmes toutes en courbes. Petites épaules, une poitrine généreuse, une taille peu marquée, des hanches larges et des fesses rebondies.

Conseil : osez les décolletés ! Évitez les vêtements trop larges. Préférez les vêtements fluides qui épousent le corps (non aux matières moulantes, brillantes et stretch). Côté couleurs, les tenues monochromes, les hauts et les bas foncés vous sont conseillés pour amincir votre silhouette. Ajoutez de la joie à vos tenues avec les accessoires !

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Adele et Nikki Blonsky.

 

Silhouette V ou pyramide inversée

La silhouette en V est souvent le reflet de femmes sportives : épaules larges et carrées, hanches menues et jambes fines.

Conseil : mettez en avant vos jambes, votre principal atout ! Comment faire? Optez pour les jeans et les pantalons moulants. Osez les bas avec des imprimés et des couleurs vives. Pour vos hauts, préférez les cols en V. Oubliez les hauts moulants, les t-shirts avec des messages et les rayures horizontales.

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Cameron Diaz, Pink et Zoe Saldana.

 

Silhouette A ou pyramide

Silhouette la plus répandue chez les femmes. Épaules plus étroites que les hanches. Poitrine généreuse ou menue. Taille fine ou épaisse.

Conseil : choisissez les cols V, des motifs et des couleurs vives. Aussi, optez pour des hauts volumineux qui, en rééquilibrant la silhouette, donneront l’illusion de hanches moins larges. Quant aux bas, préférez les formes évasées et les couleurs sombres qui affineront les hanches et les fessiers.

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Beyoncé, Jennifer Lopez et Eva Mendes.

 

Silhouette 8

Très similaire à la silhouette en X, mais avec plus de formes. Épaules de la même largeur que les hanches. Taille marquée, poitrine généreuse et fesses rebondies.

Conseil : pour valoriser votre poitrine, misez sur les tops cintrés et les décolletés. Les hauts et les robes cache-coeur ainsi que les matières fluides portées près du corps sont gagnants. Pour les bas, allez-y avec des jupes et pantalons taille haute. 

Célébrités qui peuvent vous inspirer : Marilyn Monroe, Scarlett Johansson et Kim Kardashian.

  • Choisissez des vêtements qui vous ressemblent.

Avant de vous lancer dans une opération « relooking », prenez le temps de bien réfléchir au style vestimentaire qui vous correspond le plus. Faites-vous un petit remue-méninge. Qu’est-ce que vous voulez dégager? Pour vous aider, vous pouvez vous inspirer de vos vedettes préférées. Créez-vous un tableau sur Pinterest ! Attention, l’exercice n’est pas de les copier, mais bien de s’en inspirer. Gardez toujours en tête les recommandations en lien avec votre morphologie.  

  • Adaptez votre style à votre mode de vie : optez pour le confort.   

À quoi ressemble votre quotidien? Choisissez des vêtements que vous pourrez porter dans la vie de tous les jours. Le confort est un critère primordial. Beaucoup trop d’argent est jeté à la poubelle pour des vêtements et accessoires qui dorment dans votre penderie à cause de leur non-praticabilité ! Si vous rêvez de cette belle robe chatoyante vue sur votre vedette préférée, optez plutôt pour la location (référence à mon article ici).

Et pour finir, j’ai envie de vous inviter à sortir un peu de votre zone de confort une fois de temps en temps. Osez, tentez et essayez des morceaux afin de trouver les pièces parfaites. Trop souvent, nous nous limitons à ce que nous sommes habituées, à ce que nous avons déjà dans notre garde-robe.

Lorsque vous prévoyez aller faire les boutiques, assurez-vous de ne pas être dans un horaire serré. Portez des souliers confortables et des vêtements faciles à retirer en vue des nombreux essayages pour rendre l’expérience plus agréable et amusante. Invitez un(e) ami(e) qui saura vous donner une opinion franche et laissez votre orgueil à la maison !

Tout cela vous semble un casse-tête? Pas de panique et faites appel aux bons services de votre styliste préférée https://www.arianesylvain.com/. 😉

xox Ari

 

Rédigé par:

Ariane Sylvain

Styliste montréalaise, Ariane Sylvain a un instinct pour les tendances et un style distinctif. Sa signature est sans contredit l’audace de défier les conventions. Pour elle, la mode est une forme d’art, un moyen d’exprimer sa personnalité et de s’amuser.

Reconnue pour son talent naturel, sa créativité, son ouverture d’esprit et son entregent, Ariane est sollicitée pour des séances photos, des productions télévisées, des tapis rouges et du stylisme personnel.

Elle veille principalement à toutes les tenues de Marina depuis maintenant quatre ans. Elles partagent ensemble la même vision de la mode et forment ainsi un duo solide et explosif qui ne laisse personne indifférent.

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés