Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

Top 10 Events, Activities, and Things To Do Before Fall Rolls Around (and a Bit Afterwards)

Written by: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - August 9, 2018

Montréal Pride (August 9 to 19)

Since 2007, Montréal Pride has served as a beacon of hope for people around the world!

This year, in addition to several DJ sets and parties. Montréal Pride is offering conferences, conventions, stand-up, a BBQ, and workshops! I don’t know about you, but I’ll be there for sure!

For more information and to view the complete program, visit their website: http://www.fiertemontrealpride.com/en/the-festival/

 

 

 

ÎLESONIQ  (August 10 and 11)

A few days after Osheaga, it’s ÎLESONIQ’s turn to invade Parc Jean-Drapeau!

Amazing artists like the Chainsmokers, Diplo, and French Montana will be there. I absolutely love the art that decorates the site, like their big colourful flowers and huge inflatables! Also, what’s cool is that on the website, you can recommend artists! SO RECOMMEND ME. Ok bye.

Website: https://www.ilesoniq.com

 

Afro Fashion Expo (August 11)

The Afro Fashion Expo is a local and international fashion meeting of afro trends. It highlights creators and entrepreneurs of Afro origin in the fashion world! This year is the Expo’s 3rd edition, and it will take place on August 11th from noon to 9 pm at the Rialto Theatre. There will be parades, a cocktail, an exhibition, Afro-fusion food, and opportunities to purchase many beautiful items! I‘ll be there without a shadow of a doubt because I’m one of the event’s ambassadors!

For tickets: http://misskabi.com/afrofashionexpo/

 

 

Fashion & Design Festival (August 20 to 25)

In addition to fashion shows from designers like Eve Gravel or Yung_Alexander, in the Quartier des spectacles, conferences will be held during the Fashion & Design Festival. You can learn more about the place of luxury in Montreal or women in business. There will even be a 90s karaoke event on the main stage on August 22nd at 9 pm if you’re ever looking for me!

For more information: http://festivalmodedesign.com/en/

Public Market (August 25 and 26)

In Old Montreal (350 Place Royale), a public market inspired by the 18th century will be held! Ever dreamed of living in that time period but you enjoy washing yourself too much? This is the perfect opportunity for you! A Pointe-à-Callière flagship event for 25 years, the Public Market immerses you in 18th century life thanks to hundreds of characters, music, and artists!

Website: https://pacmusee.qc.ca/en/calendar/event/public-market/

 

OSM Classical Spree (August 29 to September 2)

This year is the 7th edition of the OSM Classical Spree, where more than 30 concerts can be attended for as little as $10.

The opening show will be held on August 29th at the Olympic Park and it will feature an interpretation of Scheherazade with the Cirque Éloize. Better yet, it will be FREE!!

Website: http://www.osm.ca/en/classical

 

 

MEG Montréal Électronique Groove 2018 (August 31 to September 2)

This year is the 20th edition of this beautiful little electronic music festival! 3/4 of the shows will take place at the SAT (Société des arts technologiques), the others at Le Ministère, and only one at Piknic Électronik. I’m not a fan of electronic music, BUT I’m not saying that I won’t stop by to check it out one night. I won’t tell you which one (because I probably won’t be there), but GO! It looks so cool!

Website: https://megmontreal.com/en/festival-meg-2018/  

 

 

OUMF (September 5 to 8)

It’s the Back-to-School Festival on Saint-Denis Street in the Quartier des spectacles! Shows, an urban street art fair, a pedestrian street and everything is FREE. Even if you’re strapped for cash, you can still have fun! They haven’t yet released the complete program schedule, BUT we do know that DEAD OBIES will be there! By then, I should have at least one original song, so how about we start a petition for me to sing it with 3-4 encores?

Website: http://oumf.ca/2018/en/

 

 

Festival du nouveau cinéma (October 3 to 14)

The 2018 edition will be their 46th! Not being a film buff myself, I only just found out about this festival. However, by reading its description and browsing last year’s program, I very much want to go to see the short and feature films that will be presented this year! This is the place where film buffs and local professionals meet to share their passion. So cool! I’m just hoping I don’t meet Robin Aubert and am forced to discuss movie classics. It wouldn’t be long before I talked his ear off about my preference for McDonald’s coffee over Tim’s coffee.

Site: https://www.quartierdesspectacles.com/en/event/9/festival-du-nouveau-cinema/

 

 

Montreal Vegan Festival (October 20 and 21)

Are you vegan? Are not you vegan? Do you like discovering new things? Even better, do you like discovering things that don’t hurt animals and that aren’t derived from animals? Or do you just have nothing planned on October 20th and 21st? Well, these two days full of workshops – like ones on the manufacturing of cosmetics or the creation of vegan cheeses and exhibitors will make you discover many surprising things!

Workshops are between $5 and $20 to cover the cost of materials used during the sessions.

Oh and it’s happening at the Palais des congrès!

Website: http://festivalveganedemontreal.com/2018en/  

 

 

To see a list of all the events and activities taking place in the Quartier des spectacles, I recommend visiting: https://www.quartierdesspectacles.com/en/discover-the-quarter/festivals-and-events/

Vaness

Written by:

Vanessa Duchel

For me, holding a mic or pencil is basically the same thing.
Yes, I was on Star Académie (F.V. American Idol).
No, I didn’t release an album afterwards.
No, you haven’t seen me on Occupation Double (comparable to Big Brother).
However, I’m still single!

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Top 10 des événements et activités qu’il reste à faire avant l’automne (pis un peu après)

Rédigé par: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - 9 Août 2018

Fierté Montréal  (9 au 19 août)

Depuis 2007, Fierté Montréal nous promet d’en voir de toutes les couleurs !

Cette année, en plus de plusieurs DJ sets et de parties, Fierté Montréal nous offre des conférences, des congrès, du stand-up, un BBQ et des ateliers ! Je ne sais pas pour toi, mais la fag ag que je suis va clairement y être !

Pour plus d’infos et pour la programmation complète, visite leur site web ici !

 

 

 

 

ÎLESONIQ (10 et 11 août)

Quelques jours après Osheaga, c’est au tour du festival ÎLESONIQ d’envahir le parc Jean-Drapeau !

Les Chainsmokers, Diplo et French Montana seront de la partie !  J’aime aussi beaucoup l’art qu’on retrouve sur le site terrestre, comme leurs grosses fleurs hyper colorées et les immenses structures gonflables ! Aussi, ce qui est cool, c’est que sur le site internet, tu peux proposer des artistes ! PROPOSE-MOI. Ok bye.

Site juste ici !

 

Afro Fashion Expo (11 août)

L’Afro Fashion Expo est le rendez-vous montréalais et international de la mode aux tendances afro. Il met en lumière des créateurs et des entrepreneurs dans le milieu de la mode aux origines afro ! L’Afro Fashion Expo en est à sa 3e édition et aura lieu le 11 août de midi à 21h00 au Théâtre Rialto. Il y aura des défilés, un cocktail, une exposition, de la bouffe afro-fusion et, bien entendu, tu pourras acheter beaucoup de choses trop belles ! J’y serai sans l’ombre d’un doute parce que je suis une des ambassadrices !

Pour des billets, clique ici

 

 

Festival Mode & Design (20 au 25 août)

En plus des défilés comme celui d’Eve Gravel ou de Yung_Alexander, au Quartier des spectacles, le Festival Mode & Design offre des conférences. Tu pourras en apprendre plus sur la place du luxe à Montréal ou sur les femmes en affaires. Il y aura même un karaoké des années 90 sur la scène principale le 22 août à 21h00 si jamais tu me cherches !

Pour plus d’infos, clique ici

Marché public (25 et 26 août)

Dans le Vieux Montréal (350 Place Royale) aura lieu un marché public dans l’ambiance du 18e siècle ! Une reconstitution historique. Un événement phare de Pointe-à-Callière depuis 25 ans. Tu as toujours rêvé de vivre dans ces années, mais tu aimes trop te laver? C’est l’occasion pour toi ! Le Marché public nous fera vivre des scènes d’époque à l’aide de centaines de personnages, de musique et d’artistes ! Je me suis toujours demandée ce que les fans de grandeur nature peuvent ressentir quand ils enfilent leur costume, c’est le moment !!

Site ici

 

 

Festival OSM Virée classique (29 août au 2 septembre)

C’est la 7e édition du festival OSM Virée classique cette année ! Il y aura plus de 30 concerts auxquels tu pourras assister à partir de 10$.

Le grand concert d’ouverture le 29 août sera une interprétation de Schéhérazade avec le Cirque Éloize au Parc olympique et IL SERA GRATUIT !!

Site ici

 

 

MEG Montréal Électronique Groove 2018 (31 août au 2 septembre)

C’est la 20e édition de ce beau petit festival de musique électro ! Le 3/4 des spectacles auront lieu à la SAT (Société des arts technologiques), les autres à Le Ministère et un seul au Piknic Électronik. J’suis pas fan de musique électronique, MAIS je ne dis pas que je ne m’y aventurerai pas un soir. J’te dis pas lequel (parce que je n’y serai probablement pas), mais vas-y là, ça à l’air trop cool !

Site ici

 

 

OUMF (5 au 8 septembre)

C’est le Festival de la rentrée sur la rue Saint-Denis dans le Quartier Latin ! Des spectacles, une foire marchande des arts de rue et tout ça GRATUITEMENT ! Comme quoi, même quand on est pauvre on peut se divertir ! On ne connaît pas encore toute la programmation, MAIS on sait que DEAD OBIES y sera t’sais !! D’ici là, je devrais avoir au moins une chanson originale, alors on se part une pétition pour que je vienne la chanter avec 3-4 reprises?

Site ici

 

 

Festival du nouveau cinéma (3 au 14 octobre)

L’édition 2018 sera leur 46e ! N’étant pas cinéphile, je n’avais jamais entendu parler de ce festival. Par contre, en lisant sa description et en voyant la programmation de l’année dernière, j’ai très envie d’aller voir des courts et des longs métrages qu’on y présentera ! Il s’agit de soirées où les cinéphiles et les professionnels du milieu se rencontrent et partagent leur intérêt et passion. Trop cool ! Faudrait juste pas que je rencontre Robin Aubert et qu’on parle de classiques cinématographiques. Ça prendrait pas de temps que je lui parlerais de ma préférence pour le café McDo versus celui du Tim’s.

Site ici

 

Festival végane de Montréal (20 et 21 octobre)

T’es végane? Tu n’es pas végane? Tu aimes découvrir des trucs? Tu aimes, encore mieux, découvrir des trucs qui ne blessent pas d’animaux et qui n’en proviennent pas? Ou tu n’as juste rien de prévu les 20 et 21 octobre prochains? Et bien, ces deux journées remplies d’ateliers (de la fabrication de cosmétiques à la création de fromages végétaux) et d’exposants te feront découvrir bien des choses surprenantes !

Les ateliers sont entre 5$ et 20$ pour couvrir le coût des matériaux utilisés pendant les séances.

Oh et ça se passe au Palais des congrès !

Site ici

 

 

Pour voir une liste de tous les événements et activités qui auront lieu au Quartier des spectacles, je t’invite à visiter le : https://www.quartierdesspectacles.com/fr/decouvrir-le-quartier/festivals-et-evenements/

Vaness

Rédigé par:

Vanessa Duchel

D'après moi, tenir un micro et tenir un crayon, c'est pas mal la même chose.
Oui, j'ai fait Star Académie.
Non, je n'ai pas fait de CD après.
Non, tu ne m'as pas vue à Occupation Double.
Par contre, je suis toujours célibataire!

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés