Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

Fish Tacos

Written by: Shana Troy Montréal - August 14, 2018

What’s the perfect summer meal that everyone LOVES and is super easy to whip up? FISH TACOS! Fish tacos are for summer what rosé wine is for the hot season!

They’re perfect for the seasonal hot months and are always a crowd pleaser. You really can’t go wrong with grilling a beautiful piece of wild salmon on the BBQ, and then layering on some wonderfully colourful, in season ingredients.

I know I always say it, but with fish tacos, the possibilities are endless! There’s really no wrong way to make them… as long as you have some good fish on the BBQ, crunchy lemony coleslaw, sweet and juicy mango, buttery avocado, creamy yogurt, salty feta cheese, and a splash or two of hot sauce, you’re in business!

 

They’re also a treat for the eyes: colourful, delicious, texturally pleasing, flavourful, and easy to make.

These tacos take a bit of preparation, but that preparation goes a long way when assembling your personalized dish. You’ll be blown away by the sides that you whipped up, and impressed with all the flavour combinations… not to mention, you’ll be the hit of your own dinner party!!!

Whether you have a food restriction, or are just being “careful” for the summer (ladies, you know what I mean… bikini time!), fish tacos are a great choice because they’re chock full of lean protein, veggies, fruit, and are gluten free…. yet not light in flavour one bit.

You could use any kind of fish that you’d like, but my favourite is salmon. Salmon is meaty, oily, and super consistent in a taco. It holds up well against all the other flavours and ingredients. Plus, it’s full of healthy benefits.

These are the basic fish taco ingredients that I always use, but don’t let this list stop you from getting creative and throwing in whatever else you’d like. It’ll always taste great, promise!

 

Ingredients

  • Wild salmon (or any fish you like)
  • Cabbage
  • Fresh mango
  • Avocado
  • Feta
  • Plain greek yogurt 
  • Fresh cilantro 
  • Hot sauce 
  • Lemon juice
  • Corn tortillas 

 

 

Recipe


– To make the coleslaw: start by slicing up half of a cabbage with a mandolin and placing it in a bowl. Please be careful not to cut yourself… speaking from experience, mandolins are extremely sharp. If you don’t have a mandolin, just use a knife but cut as thinly as you can. Juice one to two lemons into the bowl of sliced cabbage and mix it all up. Let it rest while you prep the rest of the meal.

– To make the lemony yogurt: start by putting plain yogurt and the zest from one to two lemons into a mixing bowl. Add the juice from half a lemon, salt and pepper, whisk up, and let sit.

– Season and grill your piece of wild salmon on the BBQ. Once it’s done, break it up into flakes with a fork.

– Chop up one to two mangos, as well as a bunch of fresh cilantro in a small bowl, season to taste, and put aside.

– Slice avocados, crumble feta, and warm up the tortillas, if you’d like.

 

To assemble your fish tacos: start with a tortilla, and layer on all the toppings that you just made! Splash on a bit of hot sauce and some more fresh cilantro. The order never matters, it’ll always be heaven in your mouth!

Enjoy your meal! 

Shana

 

Written by:

Shana Troy

A highly skilled dancer, Shana received her ballet training at l'École supérieure de danse du Québec and Le Jeune Ballet du Québec. Her love of dance flourished and she began her 10 year professional career with Les Grands Ballets Canadiens.

Shana was a dancer and choreographer on Radio-Canada’s Le Match des Étoiles (Dancing with the Stars).
She also danced in the Quebec movie Sur le rythme, and was part of many TV shows and musicals. Her accomplishments don’t end there. She was Veronic Dicaire’s dance captain for 3 years in Vegas, Europe, and Quebec.

Her mom had a passion for cooking and she passed it down to Shana and her two sisters. Shana became a mom to little Grey in May 2017 and she currently teaches a barre fitness class at b.cycle’s studio in Old Montreal.

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Tacos au poisson

Rédigé par: Shana Troy Montréal - 14 Août 2018

Quel est le repas d’été parfait que tout le monde adore et est facile à préparer? Les TACOS AU POISSON ! Jumelés avec un vin rosé, ils sont parfaits pour l’été !

 

Les tacos au poisson sont toujours un choix gagnant. Vous ne pouvez vraiment pas vous tromper en grillant un beau morceau de saumon sur le barbecue, puis en y ajoutant des ingrédients super colorés.

 

Je sais que je le dis toujours, mais avec les tacos au poisson, les possibilités sont infinies ! Il n’y a vraiment pas de mauvaise façon de les faire… tant que vous ayez du bon poisson, une salade de chou croquante et citronnée, de la mangue sucrée et juteuse, des avocats, du yogourt crémeux, du fromage feta salé et un peu de sauce piquante, vous êtes en business !

 

Ils sont également un véritable festin pour les yeux: colorés, délicieux, texturés, savoureux et faciles à préparer.

 

Ces tacos demandent un peu de préparation, mais celle-ci permet à tout le monde de les personnaliser selon leurs goûts. Les combinaisons de saveurs offertes par les garnitures préparées sont incroyables. Vous serez sans doute la vedette de la soirée !

 

Que vous ayez une restriction alimentaire ou que vous soyez juste « prudent » pour l’été (les filles, vous savez ce que je veux dire… c’est la saison du bikini !), les tacos au poisson sont un excellent choix, car ils contiennent beaucoup de protéines maigres, de légumes et de fruits, et sont sans gluten…. mais ils sont quand même super savoureux et délicieux.

 

Vous pouvez utiliser n’importe quelle sorte de poisson, mais mon préféré est le saumon. Le saumon est charnu, huileux et vraiment bon dans un taco. Il résiste bien à tous les autres arômes et ingrédients. De plus, il est super bon pour la santé.

 

Ci-dessous sont les ingrédients de base que j’utilise toujours dans mes tacos au poisson, mais ne laissez pas cette liste vous empêcher de faire preuve de créativité et d’y ajouter ce que vous voulez. Ça sera toujours bon, promis !

 

Ingrédients

  • Saumon sauvage (ou votre poisson préféré)
  • Chou
  • Mangue fraîche
  • Avocat
  • Feta
  • Yogourt grec nature 
  • Coriandre fraîche
  • Sauce piquante
  • Jus de citron
  • Tortillas de mais

 

 

Recette


Pour préparer la salade de chou : commencez par trancher la moitié d’un chou avec une mandoline et placez-le dans un bol. Attention… par expérience, les mandolines sont extrêmement pointues. Si vous n’avez pas de mandoline, utilisez simplement un couteau, mais coupez aussi finement que possible. Dans le bol contenant le chou émincé, ajoutez le jus d’un ou de deux citrons et mélangez le tout. Laissez reposer pendant que vous préparez le reste du repas.


– Pour préparer le yogourt citronné : commencez par mettre le yogourt nature et le zeste d’un ou de deux citrons dans un bol à mélanger. Ajoutez le jus d’un demi citron, salez et poivrez, fouettez et laissez reposer.

– Assaisonnez et faites griller votre morceau de saumon sauvage sur le barbecue. Une fois qu’il est prêt, séparez-le avec une fourchette.

– Hachez une à deux mangues et de la coriandre fraîche dans un petit bol, assaisonnez au goût et mettez de côté.

– Tranchez les avocats, émiettez le fromage feta et réchauffez les tortillas (si vous le souhaitez).

 

 

 

Pour assembler les tacos au poisson : recouvrez votre tortilla de toutes les garnitures que vous venez de faire ! Ajoutez un peu de sauce piquante et de la coriandre fraîche. L’ordre ne compte jamais, ça sera toujours le paradis dans votre bouche !

Bon appétit! 

Shana

 

Rédigé par:

Shana Troy

Danseuse de haut calibre, Shana a été formée en ballet classique à l'École supérieure de danse du Québec et au Jeune Ballet du Québec. C’est ainsi qu’elle a chaussé ses pointes comme ballerine pour les Grands Ballets Canadiens pendant 10 ans.

Vous l’avez probablement déjà vue comme danseuse/chorégraphe au Match des Étoiles à Radio Canada. Elle a également pris part au film de danse québécois Sur le rythme, à plusieurs émissions télévisées et à quelques comédies musicales. Son curriculum ne s’arrête pas là. Elle était danseuse en chef pour Veronic Dicaire pendant 3 ans à Vegas, en Europe et au Québec.

Sa mère adorait cuisiner et a transmis sa passion à Shana et ses deux sœurs. Nouvellement maman du petit Grey depuis mai 2017, elle donne présentement des cours de barre fitness au studio b.cycle dans le Vieux-Montréal et partagera ses recettes favorites ici.

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés