Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

My Experience with Dating Apps

Written by: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - July 2, 2018

Hello! I hope you’re doing well!

I hope you hope I’m fine too that would be super nice and polite of you. In fact, it would be very normative to tell me that, so finally, I actually hope you don’t give a crap. Just enough to be original and a little different.

In short, I just started this post and I’m already babbling (SOMEONE PLEASE DIAGNOSE ME).

I wanted to tell you about some dating apps I’ve used and my experiences with them. Let it be known right away that I won’t be telling you about my magical wedding. I’m still very much single and roommates with a young woman full of ambition. These apps didn’t help my love life much but still, I lived some pretty funny experiences.

I’ll tell my stories site by site and then meeting by meeting. You may think I’m desperate and unfortunately, I can’t contradict you. In terms of the number of platforms I tried, I’m aware that there are many more out there, but keep in mind that I’m not writing a novel here.

Now that I think about it, I’m going to write a little trilogy of articles (one for each of the apps I tested)!

 

Badoo

Some put more emphasis on the “a” and others on the “oo”, but it remains the same word.

This dating site was created in the UK in 2006 by Andrey Andreev. I think I’ve had an account since 2007 (jeez…).

According to its description on the Apple Store, Badoo is the largest dating network in the world, with more than 340 million members.

Badoo works with your geographic location to show you which “bachelor” or “bachelorette” (because Lord knows not everyone is honest about their relationship status) is near you. The app (it’s first and foremost a website) is free, but if you want to have access to small privileges like knowing your likes or who added you to their favourites, you can pay and become premium member!

Badoo was the first real dating site I used. I have so many stories about it that I don’t even know where to start. If I remember correctly, the first time I visited the site was on my computer. 17 year-old me had downloaded my most beautiful pictures and I allowed myself to judge other users because I told myself that they were judging me too.

 

Mr. N

My first crush (let’s call him Mr. N) approached me by insulting my appearance. He called me fat and I immediately told him off. We then chatted for two hours and talked on the phone for seven. The same evening/night. When the sun rose at the same time as an abominable snow storm started brewing, he invited me to sleep at his house in the West of Montreal, a place I had almost never set foot in, while I lived in Prévost at my parents’ house. I of course went (I’m the girl in the horror movies who goes down to the basement after hearing a gunshot). He greeted me in his dorm wearing boxers that were much too loose and asking me to remain silent because his brother was sleeping in the room next door. Which I did. It was a morning full of awkwardness. Almost without sound and in total discretion. It was my first date. I never saw him again.

 

Mr. F

A few months passed before I decided to meet someone again. This boy seemed very nice. Small problem, he didn’t have a profile picture. I still decided to give him a chance. A few days passed since I matched with Mr. F and we get along well.

We then decided to talk on the phone. Which we did a few times. Another small problem, he had a very high pitched voice that bothered me a little but hey, who am I to judge someone according to their voice?

After two weeks of chatting, we ended up finding an evening to meet up. He wanted to go to the drive-in in his pickup truck of the year. I said ok. By now, dear reader, I know you must think I’m brilliant and full of good ideas. Thank you. Wait until I tell you what’s coming next. You’ll want to award me a Nobel Prize.

The day before our date, we called each other as usual. This time, he wanted to confide in me about stuff from his past. He wanted to tell me, before our meeting, that he had spent six months in jail because he had violently fought one of his co-workers. He also wanted to tell me that he was previously a racist but that he was getting his swastika tattoos removed. I imagine that he regretted it. You’ll understand that this quickly became another small problem. I know you’re probably saying to yourself that I should have canceled! It seems to so simple… but at the time, it didn’t seem so simple because I had given him my phone number AND address so he could pick me up the next day. This guy, whom I had never met, was starting to scare me a little.

The fateful day arrived. I was ashamed, but I called a friend to tell her where I was going and I gave her the stranger’s phone number.

I heard my phone ring. He was in front of my parents’ house (who were away at the time). My heart was beating so fast. All I knew about him was that he had a chipmunk voice, was a racist, and went to jail for nearly killing a colleague. I went out through the garage door, the kind of big doors that open by pushing a button. I saw his huge black pickup. The guy driving it was bald and wearing very small sunglasses with a gray frame and orange/blue/green lenses… he greeted me by sticking his tongue between his fingers held in a V-shape, clearly showing me that he wanted to have oral sex. Unless he still had Cheetos powder stuck in the hollow between his index and middle fingers.

My reflex was to close the door. I waited a good minute before opening it again. I came out saying that I had forgotten my phone inside. I had time to text my friend instructing her to to call me an hour later and pick me up. One hour had never felt longer.

He stank of onions. He was talking crap like a 33-year-old guy who wanted to show a 17-year-old girl that he still loved clubs and was able to keep up with her.

The following events happened quickly.

We arrived at the drive-in park, the guy payed, we talked a little, he got on my nerves, I became arrogant. He told me that he had saws and knives in his trunk and that I should be careful. He also boasted of knowing where to bury me without anyone being able to find me. I slapped him. He told me to stop, I told him that I would get out of his gigantic vehicle and that my friend would pick me up. He left me alone in the parking lot of the St-Eustache cinema. I never saw him again.

 

Mr. G

Mr. G’s story is a relatively happy one. We met on Badoo a few months after Mr. F, in 2010 maybe. He, at least, had several pictures. He was my age, he studied art, and made music. Small problem… he lived in Rimouski.

Mr. G and I got along right off the bat. Our phone calls were perfect and after several weeks, we confessed our love to each other. Yes, I know it’s weird, but I was young. Months passed and conversations (as well as “I love yous”) became more and more rare until the summer of 2015 when Mr. G texted me to tell me he moved to Montreal… with his girlfriend. Yeah, seemed like he had forgotten about me.

We decided to go to the restaurant together that same evening. We got along so well. I found him gorgeous, he found me gorgeous. We went home. We texted a few minutes after we left to go our separate ways and decided to see each other the next day.

He joined me at a party in a bar. We didn’t really know how to act around each other. I don’t know if you know, but we were in love without seeing each other or touching each other for three years… it was really something to see that person in front of you. He left early, we texted a few minutes afterwards, and decided to see each other again the next day.

He came to my house. We tried to watch a movie. After 15 minutes, he decided to put his head on my lap. I decided to play with his hair. He raised his head and kissed me. My first reaction: “Yeah, but you have a girlfriend.” He got up, told me that he didn’t imagine it happening this way. I had ruined everything. He told me he was fucked up. He left. I never saw him again either.

I still have a shitload of stories to tell you. Meetings from Badoo, Tinder, and Happn

I’m telling myself that I may have to write more than a trilogy. I hope you’re interested! I’ll try to disperse them through my much more cultural articles, what do you think?

Also, I’m been thinking about starting a podcast (if you don’t know what a podcast is, I wrote an article about it in April 2018). If you think it’s a good idea, let me know!

Thank you for reading what I have to say. This was kind of therapeutic. I think I’m ready to enter the dating world again (I’m totally lying).

 

Bye

Vanessa Duchel

 

Written by:

Vanessa Duchel

For me, holding a mic or pencil is basically the same thing.
Yes, I was on Star Académie (F.V. American Idol).
No, I didn’t release an album afterwards.
No, you haven’t seen me on Occupation Double (comparable to Big Brother).
However, I’m still single!

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Mon expérience avec les applications de rencontres

Rédigé par: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - 2 Juillet 2018

Salut ! J’espère que tu vas bien !

J’espère que tu espères que je vais bien aussi, ça serait gentil et poli. En fait, ce serait très normatif de me dire que oui, alors finalement j’espère que tu t’en crisses juste un peu. Juste assez pour être original et un peu différent.

Bref, je commence à peine et je m’éternise déjà (DIAGNOSTIQUE MOI QUELQU’UN).

Je tenais à te parler de quelques applications de rencontres que j’ai utilisées et de mes expériences avec ces dernières. Qu’on s’entende, je ne te jaserai pas de mon mariage féérique; je suis encore célibataire et en colocation avec une jeune femme pleine d’ambition. Ces applications ne m’ont donc pas rendu service tant que ça, mais quand même, j’ai vécu plusieurs expériences.

Je vais y aller par site pour bien te situer et ensuite par rencontre. Tu peux penser que je suis désespérée et je ne peux malheureusement pas m’y opposer. Par rapport au nombre de plateformes que j’ai essayées : je suis au courant qu’il y en a bien plus, mais un moment donné, je n’écris pas un roman.  

En y pensant bien même, je vais faire une petite trilogie d’articles (un pour chacune des applications que j’ai testée) !

 

Badoo

Certains mettent plus d’emphase sur le « a » et d’autres sur le « oo », mais ça reste le même mot.

Ce site de rencontre a été créé en 2006 par Andrey Andreev et a été lancé au Royaume-Uni. Pour ma part, je crois que j’y suis depuis 2007 (i la la…).

Selon sa description sur le Apple Store, Badoo est le plus grand réseau de dating du monde. Parait-il qu’ils ont plus de 340 millions d’adeptes, ce n’est pas rien !  

Badoo fonctionne avec ta position géographique, donc il te montre quel « célibataire » (parce que Lord knows que tout le monde n’est pas l’honnêteté incarnée) tu viens de croiser ou qui est simplement à proximité. L’application (c’est d’abord et avant tout un site web) est gratuite, mais si tu veux avoir accès à des petits privilèges comme connaître tes likes ou savoir qui t’a ajouté à ses favoris, tu peux payer et devenir membre premium !

Badoo a été mon premier vrai site de rencontre. J’ai tellement d’histoires qui y sont reliées que je ne sais même pas par où commencer. À mon souvenir, mes débuts sur le site se sont faits sur mon ordinateur. J’avais téléchargé les plus belles photos de moi (à 17 ans) et je me permettais de juger les utilisateurs parce que je me disais qu’ils me jugeaient aussi.

 

Monsieur N

Mon premier crush, appelons-le Monsieur N, m’a approchée en m’insultant sur mon apparence. Il m’a traitée de grosse et je l’ai solidement envoyé chier. On a chatté deux heures et parlé au téléphone sept heures. La même soirée/nuit. Quand le soleil s’est levé en même temps qu’une abominable tempête de neige, il m’a invitée à venir dormir chez lui dans l’ouest de Montréal alors que je n’y avais presque jamais mis les pieds et que j’habitais à Prévost, encore chez mes parents. Évidemment, j’y suis allée (je suis la fille dans les films d’horreur qui descend au sous-sol après avoir entendu un coup de feu). Il m’a accueillie dans sa résidence universitaire à grand coup de boxers trop lousses en me demandant de garder le silence parce que son frère dormait dans le chambre à côté. Ce que j’ai fait. Ce fût un avant-midi de malaise. Presque sans son et dans la discrétion. C’était ma première date. Je ne l’ai jamais revu.

 

Monsieur F

Quelques mois passent avant que je décide de rencontrer quelqu’un à nouveau. Ce garçon me semblait très gentil. Petit hic, il n’avait pas de photo de profil. J’ai quand même décidé de lui laisser une chance. Quelques jours passent depuis mon genre de match avec Monsieur F et on s’entend bien.

On se dit alors qu’on devrait peut-être se parler au téléphone. Ce que nous faisons quelques fois. Autre petit hic, il a une voix très aiguë qui me dérange un peu mais bon, qui suis-je pour juger quelqu’un en fonction de sa voix?  

Après deux semaines de parle-parle jase-jase, on finit par trouver une soirée pour se rencontrer. Il voulait aller au ciné-parc dans son pickup de l’année. J’ai dit ok. Je sais que tu me trouves brillante, cher lecteur. Merci. Attends que je te raconte ce qui s’en vient. Tu vas encore plus vouloir me décerner un prix Nobel.

La veille de notre date, on s’appelle comme à l’habitude depuis quelques jours. Par contre, cette fois-ci, on y va dans les confidences. Il voulait me dire, avant notre rencontre, qu’il avait fait six mois de prison parce qu’il s’était violemment battu avec un de ses collègues de travail. Il voulait aussi me dire qu’il était raciste dans le passé mais qu’il était en train de se faire retirer ses tatouages de croix gammées. Il regrettait, j’imagine. Tu comprendras que c’est vite devenu un autre petit hic. Je sais, tu te dis : ben annule ! Il me semble que c’est simple… mais ça ne semblait pas aussi simple à ce moment là parce qu’il avait mon numéro de téléphone ET mon adresse que je lui avais donnée pour qu’il vienne me chercher le lendemain. Ce gars, que je n’avais jamais vu, commençait légèrement à me faire peur.  

Le jour fatidique arrive. J’avais honte, mais j’ai appelé une amie pour l’informer de l’endroit où j’allais et pour lui laisser le numéro de téléphone de l’inconnu.

J’entends mon téléphone sonner. Il est devant la maison de mes parents (absents à ce moment). J’ai le coeur qui bat très vite. Tout ce que je sais de lui, c’est qu’il a une voix de chipmunk, qu’il est raciste et qu’il a fait six mois de prison pour avoir presque tué un collègue. Je sors par la porte de garage. T’sais les grandes portes qui s’ouvrent en pesant sur un bouton. Je vois son pickup noir immense. Le gars qui le conduit l’est tout autant. Le mec est chauve et porte des très petites lunettes de soleil à la monture grise et aux verres orangés/bleus/verts… il me salue en passant sa langue entre ses deux doigts en forme de V. Il me montrait clairement qu’il voulait me faire l’amour oral. À moins qu’il avait encore de la poudre de Cheetos dans le creux entre son index et son majeur.

Mon réflexe a été de refermer la porte. J’ai attendu une bonne minute avant de l’ouvrir à nouveau.  Il fallait que je trouve un moyen. Je suis ressortie en lui disant que j’avais oublié mon téléphone à l’intérieur. J’ai eu le temps de texter mon amie pour qu’elle m’appelle une heure plus tard et qu’elle vienne me chercher. Cette heure a été plus que longue.  

Il puait les oignons en calvaire. Il disait de la marde comme un gars de 33 ans qui veut beaucoup trop montrer à une fille de 17 ans qu’il aime encore les clubs et qu’il est capable de la suivre.

La suite va débouler rapidement.  

On arrive au ciné-parc, le gars paie, on parle un peu, il me tape sur les nerfs, je deviens arrogante. Il me dit qu’il a des scies et des couteaux dans son coffre et que je devrais faire attention. Il se vante aussi de savoir où m’enterrer sans que personne ne puisse me retrouver. Je le gifle. Il me dit d’arrêter, je lui dis que je vais débarquer de son gigantesque véhicule et que mon amie vient me chercher. Il me laisse seule dans le parking du cinéma St-Eustache. Je ne l’ai jamais revu.

 

Monsieur G

Monsieur G est une histoire relativement heureuse. On s’est rencontrés sur Badoo quelques mois après Monsieur F. On doit être en 2010, peut-être dans ces eaux là. Lui, au moins, avait plusieurs photos, il avait mon âge, il étudiait en art et faisait de la musique. Petit problème… il habitait à Rimouski.  

Monsieur G et moi nous sommes rapidement entendus. Nos appels téléphoniques étaient parfaits et après plusieurs semaines, nous nous sommes avoués notre amour. Oui, je sais que c’est weird, mais j’étais jeune. Les mois passaient et les conversations se faisaient de plus en plus rares et les « je t’aime » aussi jusqu’à l’été 2015 quand Monsieur G me texte pour m’annoncer qu’il est déménagé à Montréal… avec sa copine. Ouin, mettons qu’il m’avait un peu oubliée.  

On décide d’aller au restaurant ensemble le soir même. On s’entend tellement bien. Je le trouve beau, il me trouve belle. On rentre chacun chez soi. On se texte quelques minutes après notre départ et on décide de se voir le lendemain.

Il vient me rejoindre à une soirée dans un bar. On ne sait pas trop comment agir. Je ne sais pas si tu sais gang, mais on a été en amour sans se voir ni se toucher pendant trois ans… c’est quelque chose de se voir en face. Il part tôt, on se texte quelques minutes après son départ et on décide de se voir le lendemain.  

Il est venu chez moi. On a essayé d’écouter un film. Après 15 minutes, il décide de coucher sa tête sur mes genoux. Je décide de lui jouer dans les cheveux. Il lève sa tête et m’embrasse. Mon réflexe: « Ouin, mais t’as une blonde. » Il se lève, me dit qu’il n’avait pas imaginé cette scène comme ça. J’avais tout gâché. Il m’a dit qu’il était fucké. Il est parti. Lui non plus, je ne l’ai jamais revu.

J’ai encore un shitload d’histoires à vous raconter. Des rencontres de Badoo et de Tinder,  et de Happn

J’suis en train de me dire que j’aurai peut-être plus qu’une trilogie. J’espère que ça vous intéresse ! Je vais m’efforcer de les disperser à travers mes chroniques réellement plus culturelles, qu’en pensez-vous?

Aussi, je songe de plus en plus à démarrer un podcast (si vous ne savez pas ce qu’est un podcast, j’ai écrit un article là-dessus en avril 2018). Si vous trouvez que c’est une bonne idée, faites-moi signe !

Merci de m’avoir lue, on dirait que ce texte a agi un peu comme une thérapie. J’ai retrouvé le goût de dater (je mens).

 

Bye

Vanessa Duchel

 

Rédigé par:

Vanessa Duchel

D'après moi, tenir un micro et tenir un crayon, c'est pas mal la même chose.
Oui, j'ai fait Star Académie.
Non, je n'ai pas fait de CD après.
Non, tu ne m'as pas vue à Occupation Double.
Par contre, je suis toujours célibataire!

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés