Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

The Best Veg Restaurants in Montreal

Written by: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - July 30, 2018

If you didn’t already know (I don’t know how you’d know, but some people are better informed than others), I was a vegetarian from April 2016 to April 2017 and I aspire to become one again someday.

The reasons I cut out meat were a little vague, I’ll admit it: save animals, pollute less, please my best friend who always looked a bit nauseous when I ate hot dogs.

To push me to do it, I watched the documentary “La face cachée de la viande,” which shocked me to my core. I became a vegetarian the very next day. So easy. I didn’t even do any research. Good job Vaness! After a few months and 15 kilos gained, my mother begged me to eat things other than poutine, so I listened to her.

However, during my year of vegetarianism, I discovered several really good restaurants that serve everything except meat. Below are my beautiful finds.

 

Antidote Bouffe Végane, 3459 Ontario Street E
Located in Hochelaga, this pretty vegan restaurant offers a varied menu with dishes ranging from a burrito brunch to a fake smoked meat sandwich made with smoked soy protein. It’s also cheap. You can eat a good meal for $13.
Site web : http://www.goantidote.com/bistro

 

 

Chu Chai, 4088 Saint-Denis Street
My friends brought me here for my 27th birthday (to respect my vegetarianism) and I LOVED IT. Chu Chai is a vegetarian and vegan Thai restaurant that makes its dishes with imitation meat and seafood. They also make excellent cocktails! It’s so good and definitely worth the detour! Oh, and they deliver! Just find them on Just-Eat.ca or foodora.ca. Before I forget, in terms of price, it’s not cheap but for thirty dollars, you’ve eaten really well.
Site web : www.chuchai.com 

 

Invitation V, 201 Saint-Jacques Street
I ate here a few weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised! The menu, which is 100% vegan, is incredible. In addition to the restaurant itself being beautiful, chef Kelvin cooks with organic ingredients and encourages local businesses as much as possible. The restaurant offers brunch, lunch, and dinner. You can eat for about $15 … isn’t that amazing?
Site web : http://www.invitationv.com/

 

 

L’Gros Luxe, 150 Bernard Street O and 451 Duluth Avenue E
After trying L’Gros Luxe 100% Végé, the owners reversed their decision to separate the restaurants based on their menus and they now offer the vegetarian menu at every location. I tried the veggie burger and YUM. For $15, you leave feeling very full and satisfied!
Site web : http://www.lgrosluxe.com/

 

LOV, 1232 rue de la Montagne et 464 rue McGill
I’ve never been to LOV, but my vegetarian friend told me that I absolutely had to include it in this list. It seems that even if you’re an omnivore, you’ll love the menu! You really can’t go wrong with a beet tartare, a power bowl, a vegetable lasagna, and a mushroom risotto. I can’t wait to try it! Just a reminder that I’m SINGLE and accepting dinner invitations! What’s more romantic than a first date at a restaurant called LOV? It’s a cheap date spot because with $30, you can cover a meal for two!
Site web : https://www.lov.com/vnments/

 

Bye !

Vaness

 

Written by:

Vanessa Duchel

For me, holding a mic or pencil is basically the same thing.
Yes, I was on Star Académie (F.V. American Idol).
No, I didn’t release an album afterwards.
No, you haven’t seen me on Occupation Double (comparable to Big Brother).
However, I’m still single!

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Les meilleurs restos végés à Montréal

Rédigé par: Vanessa Duchel Montréal - 30 Juillet 2018

Si vous ne le saviez pas (je ne sais pas pourquoi vous le saurez, mais il y a des gens beaucoup plus informés que d’autres), j’ai été végétarienne d’avril 2016 à avril 2017 et j’aspire à le redevenir un jour.

Les raisons pour lesquelles je suis devenue végé sont un peu floues, je vais vous l’avouer : sauver les animaux, faire moins de pollution, faire plaisir à mon meilleur ami qui avait un peu toujours le cœur au bord des lèvres quand je mangeais un « roteux ».

Pour me donner le boost de le faire, j’ai regardé le documentaire « La face cachée de la viande » qui m’a décalissée comme on dit. Alors je suis devenue végé. Le lendemain. Tellement facile. Je ne me suis pas informée. Bravo Vaness ! Après quelques mois et 15 kilos en plus, ma mère tenait à ce que je recommence à m’alimenter de d’autres choses que de la poutine, alors je l’ai écoutée.

Par contre, pendant mon année de végétarisme, j’ai eu la chance de découvrir plusieurs bons restos qui servaient de tout sauf de la viande. Voici mes belles trouvailles.

 

Antidote Bouffe Végane, 3459 rue Ontario E
Situé dans Hochelag’, le bien joli resto végane nous offre un menu très varié, passant du burrito brunch au sandwich de faux smoked meat fait de protéine de soya fumée. En plus, c’est pas ben cher. Tu peux manger un bon repas pour 13$.
Site web : http://www.goantidote.com/bistro

 

 

Chu Chai, 4088 rue Saint-Denis
Mes amies m’ont amenée là pour mes 27 ans (pour respecter mon végétarisme) et j’ai CAPOTÉ. Le Chu Chai est un resto végétarien et végétalien de mets thaïlandais faits avec des imitations de viandes et de fruits de mer.  En plus, ils font des excellents cocktails ! C’est tellement bon, ça vaut le détour ! Oh et ils livrent ! Juste à trouver le resto sur Just-Eat.ca ou foodora.ca. J’oubliais, niveau prix, c’est pas super donné mais pour une trentaine de dollars, t’as bien mangé.
Site web : www.chuchai.com

 

Invitation V, 201 rue Saint-Jacques
J’y suis allée il y a quelques semaines et j’ai eu des belles surprises ! Le menu, 100% végétalien, n’a rien à envier à aucun autre menu. En plus de manger dans un superbe décor, le chef Kelvin cuisine avec des ingrédients biologiques et encourage le plus possible le commerce local. Le resto offre le brunch, le dîner et le souper. Tu t’en sors aussi pour environ 15$… c’est tu pas cool ça?
Site web : http://www.invitationv.com/

 

 

L’Gros Luxe, 150 rue Bernard O et 451 avenue Duluth E
Après avoir essayé L’Gros Luxe 100% Végé, les propriétaires ont effectué un petit retour sur leur décision de séparer les restaurants en fonction des menus et offrent maintenant le menu végétarien dans toutes les succursales. J’ai essayé le burger végé et MIAM. Pour 15$, tu en ressors bien plein et oh combien satisfait !
Site web : http://www.lgrosluxe.com/

 

LOV, 1232 rue de la Montagne et 464 rue McGill
J’y suis jamais allée mais mon ami végé m’a dit qu’il fallait absolument que je vous en glisse un mot. Il paraît que même si tu es omnivore, tu vas adorer le menu ! Comment se tromper avec un tartare de betteraves, un power bol, une lasagne de légumes et un risotto aux champignons? J’ai bien hâte d’essayer ! Je vous rappelle que je suis CÉLIBATAIRE et que je suis ouverte aux invitations ! Quel autre endroit pourrait être aussi romantique pour une première date qu’un restaurant qui s’appelle LOV? C’est une cheap date parce qu’avec 30$ pour deux personnes, t’es en business !
Site web : https://www.lov.com/vnments/

 

Bye là !

Vaness

 

Rédigé par:

Vanessa Duchel

D'après moi, tenir un micro et tenir un crayon, c'est pas mal la même chose.
Oui, j'ai fait Star Académie.
Non, je n'ai pas fait de CD après.
Non, tu ne m'as pas vue à Occupation Double.
Par contre, je suis toujours célibataire!

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés