Fr

Subscribe to newsletter !

Travel Games for Backpackers

Written by: Jade Milette Montréal - May 4, 2018

While travelling, every reason is a good one to introduce yourself to strangers and make new friends. Whether that’s at the bar while having a drink, in the water while sharing a wave or, my favourite, by playing games, meeting strangers is easy. I’m not sure why, but games have a unifying power they truly bring people together. Below, I share a list of the games that I like to carry in my backpack while travelling.

1. A deck of cards

With a little bit of imagination, you can play an endless number of games with a deck of cards, leading to hours of entertainment. You can recreate a game of Uno or Skip-Bo, play President, and for the naughtiest of you, you can even include a few drinks to start your evening on the right foot.

2. Dice

While on a trip to El Salvador, I discovered a dice game called (well, it’s what we call it at least…) 10,000. The game is played by two or more players and only requires six dice. For you observant ones, you’ve probably already understood that the goal of the game is to accumulate 10,000 points. I’m linking the rules here. If you lose one of your precious dice, don’t worry! Instead, you can play Yahtzee or Yum by creating your own grid of points on a piece of paper.

3. Backgammon

There’s a mini travel size Backgammon sold in specialty stores that’s perfect to slip in your carry-on. The pieces are magnetized so you’re pretty much guaranteed not to lose them. All you have to do is find a few good players and you’re ready for a Backgammon tournament! May the best player win!

4. Monopoly Deal

My most recent discovery is Monopoly Deal, which is basically Monopoly without the board game, only the cards. What I love about this version is that in 15 minutes, you can have finished a game, unlike the original version that would take your entire trip to finish (and would also take up all the space in your suitcase).

There you go! Now that I’ve shared my favourite games, which ones you like to carry in your backpack?

Jade xxx

 

Written by:

Jade Milette

From physical therapist to flight attendant, Jade has always been guided by her heart and in touch with her emotions. Always up for a new adventure and willing to explore a new place, she knows that the best things happen outside of her comfort zone. Her main travel motivations: food, surfing, and meeting new people. She loves to share her highs and lows, her must-dos and must not dos, and stories including cute boys thrown in there too. Through her writings, you’ll also get an exclusive glimpse at some of Marina (Nana) and Jade’s (Pauline) adventures around the world. #NanaandPauline

See all our writers
xox

Let's stay connected

En

Inscrivez-vous à mon infolettre !

Jeux de voyage

Rédigé par: Jade Milette Montréal - 4 Mai 2018

En voyageant, toutes les raisons sont bonnes pour rencontrer des gens et se joindre à un groupe d’étrangers. Que ce soit au bar en prenant un verre, dans l’eau en partageant une vague ou, mon préféré, en jouant à des jeux, les rencontres sont toujours au rendez-vous. Je ne sais pas pourquoi, mais les jeux ont vraiment un pouvoir rassembleur. Je vous partage ici ma liste de jeux que j’aime bien jouer en voyage et qui se transportent très bien dans un « backpack ».

1. Un paquet de cartes

Avec un paquet de cartes, il y a une infinité de jeux auxquels vous pouvez jouer. Il s’agit juste d’être imaginatif. Vous pouvez recréer une partie de Uno ou Skip-Bo, jouer au fameux « Trou de cul » et pour les plus coquins d’entre vous, vous pouvez même y inclure de la boisson pour bien débuter vos soirées festives.

2. Les dés

J’ai découvert, lors d’un voyage au Salvador, un jeu de dés qui s’appelle (qu’on appelle du moins…) le 10000. Il se joue à deux ou plusieurs et vous avez seulement besoin de six dés. Pour les perspicaces, vous aurez déjà compris que le but du jeu est d’accumuler 10 000 points. Je vous glisse ici un petit lien qui explique les règles. Si vous perdez un de vos précieux dés, ne vous inquiétez pas! Il y a toujours quelque chose à faire. Vous pouvez jouer au Yahtzee ou Yum en créant votre propre grille de points sur une feuille de papier et le tour sera joué!

3. Backgammon

Il y a un mini format de Backgammon qui se vend dans les boutiques spécialisées en jeux de société et il est parfait à glisser dans votre « carry-on ». Les pièces sont aimantées donc aucun souci à se faire pour les perdre. Il ne vous reste qu’à trouver quelques bons joueurs et vous êtes prêts pour un tournoi de Backgammon! Que le meilleur gagne!

4. Monopoly Deal

Ma plus récente découverte est Monopoly Deal, qui est le jeu de Monopoly avec les cartes seulement (sans la planche de jeu). Ce qui est le fun de cette version, c’est qu’en 15 minutes, vous pouvez avoir fini une partie, contrairement à la version originale qui vous prendrait votre voyage au complet à finir (et, on va se le dire, toute la place dans votre valise).

Voilà ! Maintenant que je vous ai partagé mes favoris, quels sont vos jeux préférés à transporter dans votre « backpack » ?

Jade xxx

 

Rédigé par: Jade Milette

De thérapeute en réadaptation physique à agent de bord, Jade a toujours su suivre son cœur et est très près de ses émotions. Toujours partante pour une aventure et une nouvelle destination voyage, sortir de sa zone de confort est définitivement la chose qu’elle sait le mieux faire. Ses principales motivations de voyage : la nourriture, le surf et la rencontre de nouvelles personnes. Elle se fait un plaisir à partager ses « tops » et ses « flops », ses « must-dos » et « must not dos » et ses histoires de cœur qui se passent à des kilomètres de la maison. De plus, vous aurez droit en bonus à quelques péripéties de Marina (Nana) et Jade (Pauline) lors de leurs périples autour du monde. #NanaetPauline

Voir toutes nos rédactrices
xox

Restons connectés